Vidyarathna Horana , Wickramasheela Giriulla emerge boxing champions
  Published : 10:04 am  February 2, 2011 | One comment | Print This Post  | 1,024 views

Vidyarathna University College Horana and Wickramasheela National School Girulla emerged champions in the boys and girls categories of the School Boys and Girls Boxing Championships 2010 held at the Peradeniya Central boxing ring over the weekend.

The champion Vidyarathna boxing team received 30 points to clinch the Dian Gomes Challenge Trophy which was on offer close on  their heels in second place was St Sylvester’s with 28 followed by Peradeniya Central with 18 points.

In the girls category the champion Wickramasheela outfit obtained 11 points with Bulathsinghala  MV in second place with nine points and Kengalla MMV securing the third place with eight points.

Peradeniya Centrals U,G.N. Amarawansa was adjudged the best boxer while F. Hasarif of St Sylvester’s took the best losers award. In the girl’s category T.A.L. Madumali of Bulathsinghala MMV was adjudged the best with the best losers prize going to A.I.M. Wijeratne of Sri Swarnajothi National School.

The boxing meet conducted by the ABA along with the Sri Lanka Schools Boxing Association saw the participation of over 140 boys and nearly 50 girls from 42 schools around the island.


Boys – Pinweight 30-32kgs – Nuwan Sanjeewa (Ganthalawa MV beat S.G.D. Karunaratne (Peradeniya BC). Light Flyweight 32-34kgs – V.N. Senanayake (VCK) beat H.M. Fazlanm (Jammi UL Azhar). Flyweight 34-36kgs – A.K. Maduranga (Vidyarathna UC) beat G.M. Yoshitha Nadeep (Royal Monargala). Light Bantamweight 36-38kgs – Mohamed Farshan (St John’s Nugegoda) beat F. Hasarif (St Sylvester’a). Bantamweight 38-40kgs – G.W.P. Manaram (MAS Silueta) beat P.G.A. Rajapakse (St Sylvester’s). Featherweight 40-42kgs – K. Bulathsinghala (St John’s Nugegoda) beat M.D.S. Wijeratne (Vidyarathna UC). Lightweight 42-44kgs – W.A.I. Sanjaya (VCK) beat M. Dissanayake (Ganthalawa MV) Light Welterweight 44046kgs – L.U. Liyanage (Peradeniya CC) beat D.K.C. Dassanayake (Kingswood). Welterweight 46-48kgs – U.G.N. Amarawansa (Peradeniya CC) beat D. Fernando (St John’s Nugegoda). Light Middleweight 48-50kgs – G.S.P. Samarasinghe (Vidyarathna UC) beat V.S.B. Senanayake (St Sylvester’s). Middleweight 50-52kgs – K.A.S. Bhanuka (Vidyarathna UC) beat K.G.S. Madusanka (Pilimatalawa CC). Light Heavyweight 52-54kgs – W.G. Sampath (St Sylvester’s) beat H.W.G. Ratnasiri (Vidyarathna UC). Heavyweight 54-56kgs – D.B.S. Thenabadu (St Sylvester’s) beat N. Madusanka (Vidyarathna UC). Super Heavyweight 56-58kgs – H.D. Sanjaya (Sri Palee Horana) beat M.A.R. Rahuman (St Sylvester’s).

Girls – Light Flyweight 32-34kgs – P.A.G. Jayasuriya (Kengalla MMV) beat R.M.D. Dilhani (Wendrasanpura NS). Light Bantanweight 36-38kgs – N.D. Sakunthala ((Wickramasheela NS) beat Silva (Wendrasanpura NS). Bantamweight 38-40kgs – T.F.A. Thotagama (Bulathsinghala MMV) beat T.K.P. Meddage (Veyangoda CC). Featherweight 40-42kgs – N.K. Jayamali (Wendrasanpura NS) beat L.S. Madushani (Wickramasheela NS). Lightweight 42-44kgs – L.M.N. Gamage (Kengalla MV) beat F.I.G. Sewwandi (Sri Swarnajothi NS), Light Welterweight 44-46kgs – P.H.S. Dehideniya (Sri Swarnajothi NS) beat K.M.L. Samodini (Wickramasheela NS). Welterweight 46-48kgs – N.P.I. Thathsaka (Wickramasheela NS) beat W.R.M. Walpola (Sri Swarnajothi NS), Light Middleweight 48-50kgs – L.P.S. Sandeepani (Wickramasheela NS) beat A.I.M. Wijeratne (Sri Swarnajothi NS), Light Heavyweight 52-54kgs – G.D.D. Chandrasiri (Bulathsinghala MMV) beat G.W.W. Swarnamali (Wendrasanpura NS), Heavyweight 54-56kgs – A.G.B. Lawanya (Sri Swarnajothi NS) received walk over.

By M.Shamil Amit


One Response to “Vidyarathna Horana , Wickramasheela Giriulla emerge boxing champions”

  1. sajith
    on May 27th, 2011 12:00 pm

    i wish u all the best

Feel free to leave a comment...