CWW Kannangara (Div I B)
  Published : 4:35 pm  May 3, 2012 | No comments so far | Print This Post  | 631 views

CWW Kannangara Maha Vidyalaya, Borella is a team that has earned their due respect in the schools rugby arena. They have been branded as giant killers of school rugby in the lower groups. The rugby history of CWW Kannangara runs back to just a decade, but the progress they have attained is overwhelming.

They began as mere underdogs in Division III, even without a proper ground to practice. But the CWW Kannangara rugby players have proved that their miraculous journey would not end in a flop. They entered Division I three years ago. Since claiming their first silverware, the Bowl title at the Zahira Rugby 7s, where top school teams compete, CWW Kannangara has made progress gradually.

Last year they competed in the Division I Group B only to finish in fourth position in the group table. From nine games CWW Kannangara recorded wins against top teams like Royal Panadura, Prince of Wales’, Ananda, Lumbini, Mahanama and Zahira but lost against strong sides Vidyartha, DS Senanayake and St. Sylvester’s before ending a season that had all in the basket.

This season CWW Kannangara is slotted in sixth position in the same group they played last year and will confront Dharmaraja, Wesley, Thurstan, S. Thomas’, Mahanama, St. Sylvester’s, Lumbini, Nalanda and Carey. They hope to win at least eight games this season and their aim is to end as runners-up of the group according to coach Asela Deshapriya.

“We have eight seniors in the side, including skipper Nethra Ariyaratne who is a dashing three-quarter. Our team is balanced but we rely much on our backs who are swift,” said Deshapriya. “But we do have a set of forwards that make up a pack that weighs closer to 550 kilos in gross. With this backdrop we are certain of pulling out wins in at least eight out of nine games. We are mainly focusing the games against Wesley, Dharmaraja and S. Thomas’ or at least hope to win two of these games. We have the faith in ourselves of winning the remaining six games.”

CWW Kannangara were to host their matches at Longdon Place but a last minute change of plans saw their home matches being shifted to the Air Force ground in Ratmalana. As last season the lads from Campbell Park are determined to give a good show this year as well.


The squad:

Props: A.D. Ranasinghe, R.D.D. Maduranga, A.J.K.T. Perera, D. Thathsara.

Hookers: R.S. Lakshan, G.M. Perera, S.W.S. Dameera.

Locks: P.H. Walpitiya, V. Wijesekara, A.M.G.A. Mahesh.

Flankers: S.A.C. Perera, D.L.T. Pushpakumara, P. Madushanka.

No.8: K.L. Sanidu

Scrum halves: A.M. Sathsara, T.T. Samarakoon.

Fly half: V.H.K. Chathuranga.

Centres: V.G.N. Ariyaratne, K.G.M. Madushan, C. Madushanka.

Wingers: G.A. Madushanka, H.M.L.L. Herath, S.K.D.R. Perera, D.M.M. Perera, N.M. Abeywardana.

Full back: N.H.D. Lakmal.

Officials: O.P.A. Deshapriya (Head Coach), Deshan Milinda (Fitness Coach), Sagarika Kulatunga (T-I-C)


Feel free to leave a comment...