Airwoman Dilukshi sets new SL record
  Published : 10:05 pm  November 9, 2012 | No comments so far | Print This Post  | 118 views

Air Woman W.P.E.R. Dulakshi set a new Sri Lanka record for the 3000m steeple chase on the first day of the 90th National Athletic Championships which began on Friday at the Sugathadasa Stadium.

Previous Sri Lanka record for the same event was 10:17.66sec which too was set by her last at September in Colombo and she lowered it on Friday clocking 10:11.72sec.

Priyangika Madumanthi representing Kurunegala DAA established a new meet record clearing 1.81m in the High Jump. The previous record for the event stood at 1.80m which she set in the year 2007.

The Championship organized by Sri Lanka Athletic Association was earlier scheduled for November 1-3 had to be postponed due to bad weather conditions prevailed during that period.

BOC is the title sponsor of the 90th National Athletic Championships.

Final Results – Women

3000m St Chase (Women) -  1. W.P.E.R. Dulakshi (Air Force) 10:11.72secs (NSLR), 2. U.K.N. Rathnayake (SL Army) 10:45.39secs 3. K.A.C.G.K. Abeyrathna (SL Army) 10:52.45secs.

High Jump – 1. Priyangika Madumanthi (Kurunegala DAA) 1.81m (NMR), 2. D.K. Ranasinghe (SL Navy) 1.76m, 3. S.B.W.S.S.A.W.M.S.M Sooriyamalpola (Air Force) 1.72m.

1000m – 1. H.A.T.C Hemamali (SL Police) 35:24.3secs, 2. B.G.L.A Bogahawatta (SL Navy) 36:13.4secs, 3. P.D.N Priyadarshani (Kegalle DAA) 36:57.5 secs.

200m - 1. H.P.S Buddhika (Air Force) 23.92secs, 2. H.J.C.C Silva (SL Navy) 24.20secs, 3. H.D.L Fernando (Air Force) 24.88secs

Discus Throw - 1. W.M.S.K Weerasekara (Air Force) 42.56m, 2. P.K.A.A Maduwanthi (Air Force) 41.57m, 3. W.A.O. Silva (SL School AA) 37.85m

Long Jump - 1. N.C.D. Priyadharshani  (SL Navy) 5.95m, 2. L.D.D.E Ratnasiri (Air Force) 5.93m, 3. Ruwani Rubasinghe (Matara DAA) 5.66m


Pole Vault – 1. K.A.C.P. Senaratne (SL Army) 4.60m, 2. L.A.R.K.K. Balasooriya (Air Force) 4.60m, 3. M.H.J. Sandaruwan (Kandy DAA) 4.40m

200m - 1. A.R.M. Rajaskan (SL Army) 21.29secs, 2. H.S Pathirana (SL Police) 21.39secs, I.M.R. Pushpakumara (SL Army) 21.45secs.

Discuss Throw - 1. E.P.D. Silva (SL Army) 43.86m, 2. T.G.D Chathuranga (Hambanthota DAA) 42.68m, 3. G.M.D.N. Herijinas (Air Force) 41.59m.


Feel free to leave a comment...