St. John’s-Jaffna Central evenly poised
  Published : 10:33 pm  March 10, 2016 | No comments so far | Print This Post  | 0 views

The 110th Battle of the North was evenly poised at the end of the first day as St. John’s College reached stumps at 61 for 4 after Jaffna Central College were restricted to 161, at the Jaffna Central ground in Jaffna.

Jaffna Central skipper S. Alanraj won the toss and elected to take first lease of the wicket. His team lost their first wicket with six runs on the board after which A. Jeroshan and S. Komethagan put on a valuable stand of 63 runs for the second wicket.

Later Jeroshan who made a top score of 51 with eight boundaries and skipper Alanraj added 36 runs for the fourth wicket but from there on they they lost wickets at regular intervals and were restricted to a score of 161. For the Johnians left arm spinner Vasanthan Jathusan ended with impressive figures of 4 for 39.

But the Centralites struck back as the right arm trio of Thespian Raj, skipper Alanraj and Thashopan combined to take four Johnian wickets for 61 when play ended.

With two more days of play remaining the match is poised for an interesting finish if the Centralites could put in pressure when proceedings begin on day two tomorrow.

Jaffna Central 1st innings
A. Jeroshan c Joseph b Nilojan 51
U. Priylaxshan c Tipius b Kapilraj 04
S. Komethagan c Thevaprashanth b Nilojan 39
S. Kowthaman c Jeni Flemin b Gnanamirthan 07
S. Alanraj b Jathusan 10
S. Thashopan b b Gnanamirthan 04
Y. Kirubakaran st Thevaprashanth b Jathusan 08
S. Kartheepan c Krishanthujan b Nilojan 06
V. Dinojan not out 13
S. Mathushan lbw b Jathsuan 00
K. Thespian Raj c Thevaprashanth b Jathusan 00
Extras (b5, lb7, nb6, w1) 19
Total (all out: 75.4 overs) 161
Fall of wickets – 1-6 (Priyaluxshan), 2-69 (Komethagan), 3-83 (Kowthaman), 4-119 (Alanraj), 5-129 (Jeroshan), 6-135 (Thashopan), 7-137 (Kirubakaran), 8-159 (Kartheepan), 9-161 (Mathushan).
Bowling – M. Nilojan 16.1-6-28-3, K. Kapilraj 11.5-5-13-1, V. Jathusan 16.4-4-39-4, A. Gnanamirthan 24-11-38-2, J. Krishanjuthan 7-2-31-0.

St John’s 1st innings
P. Somaskaran b Thespian Raj 08
C. Thevaprashanth c and b Thespian Raj 14
S. Tipius b Thashopan 00
K. Kapilraj not out 20
S. Jeni Flemin c Thespain b Alanraj 04
J. Krishanjuthan not out 07
Extras (b2, nb5, w1) 08
Total (4 wickets: 26 overs) 61
Fall of wickets – 1-26 (Somaskaran), 2-27 (Tipus), 3-33 (Thevaprashanth), 4-42 (Jeni Flemin).
Bowling – S. Mathushan 6-1-14-0, Y. Kirubakaran 4-0-8-0, S. Thashopan 6-2-8-1, K. Thespian Raj 7-2-22-2, S. Alanraj 3-0-7-1.



Feel free to leave a comment...