St. Sebastian’s fight back on day one
By M. Shamil Amit  Published : 10:45 pm  March 11, 2016 | No comments so far | Print This Post  | 0 views

St Sebastian’s College grabbed the honours on day one of the 66th Battle of the Gold’s big match against Prince of Wales College, at De Zoysa Stadium Moratuwa on Friday.

The opening day’s proceedings saw St. Sebastian’s — after their skipper Avishka Fernando won the toss and elected to take first lease of the wicket — fall into deep trouble but they managed to end their innings with a respectable score of 188.

The Sebs were let down by their top order batsmen despite their opening pair Praveen Perera and Sandaruwan Fernando giving them a good start of 45 runs. They lost four wickets for the addition of only 27 runs and were reeling on 72 for 5.

Later in the innings they were helped by two valuable partnerships, first of 45 runs for the ninth-wicket between Nimesh Bandara and Praveen Jayawickrama and the for the last wicket, for 33 runs, between Praveen and Tashik Perera.

But they struck back and had the Cambrians in a worse position, picking up the top four wickets with only 39 runs on the board. The Cambrians never recovered from there on as they lost wickets at regular intervals to end the day struggling on 89 for 8.

Meanwhile the limited over encounter which was scheduled to be played on March 13 has been postponed due to the bereavement of Asgiriya Mahanayake Thero and now has been scheduled to be played on March 27 at the same venue.

St Sebastian’s 1st innings
Praveen Perera c Chathuranga b Maduranga 29
Sandaruwan Fernando lbw b Maduranga 17
Avishka Fernando b Maduranga 02
Damian de Buyzer c Chathuranga b Fernando 01
Nuwanidu Fernando c Chathuranga b Nimesh 05
Mishen Silva b Nimesh 15
Tharusha Fernando b Nimesh 27
Sachintha Silva b Peiris 00
Nimesh Bandara not out 44
Praveen Jayawickrama c Peiris b Nanayakkara 23
Tashik Perera c Nanayakkara b Peiris 08
Extras (lb4, nb7, w6) 17
Total (all out: 49.5 overs) 188
Fall of wickets – 1-45 (S. Fernando), 2-50 (A. Fernando), 3-55 (Buyzer), 4-59 (Perera), 5-72 (N. Fernando), 6-100 (M. Silva), 7-109 (T. Fernando), 8-110 (S. Silva), 9-155 (Jayawickrama).
Bowling – Avindu Fernando 6-0-33-1, Dilanka Maduranga 12-2-33-3, Kasun Ekanayake 4-1-8-0, Thilan Nimesh 11-2-24-3, Dilesh Nanayakkara 8-1-38-1, Savinda Peiris 7.5-0-42-2, Sandun Soysa 1-0-6-0.

Prince of Wales 1st innings
Sandun Soysa lbw b Jayawickrama 18
Vishwa Chathuranga c N. Fernando b Perera 05
Kasun Ekanayake c S. Fernando b M. Silva 06
Vihanga Weerakkody st S. Fernando b Bandara 08
Suwath Mendis run out 06
Sanoj Dharshika c S. Fernando b Jayawickrama 17
Avindu Fernando run out 15
Dilanka Maduranga lbw b Bandara 11
Thilan Nimesh not out 02
Savindu Peiris not out 01
Extras 00
Total (8 wickets: 47 overs) 89
Fall of wickets – 1-6 (Chathuranga), 2-29 (Ekanayake), 3-29 (Soysa), 4-39 (Weerakkody), 5-51 (Mendis), 6-65 (Dharshika), 7-82 (Fernando), 8-86 (Maduranga).
Bowling – Mishen Silva 8-3-9-1, Tashik Perera 5-1-21-1, Praveen Jayawickrama 16-7-21-2, Nimesh Bandara 11-0-23-2, Sachintha Silva 3-0-9-0, Tharusha Fernando 4-1-6-0


Feel free to leave a comment...