Combined SC, Vijaya SC emerge champions
By Susil Premalal  Published : 1:32 am  December 8, 2016 | No comments so far | Print This Post  | 0 views

Combined Sports Club Katana and Vijaya Sports Club Koswadiya annexed the Open Men’s and Women’s title respectively in the Dialog President’s Gold Cup Volleyball Tournament which concluded at the National Youth Services Council Indoor Stadium in Maharagama yesterday.

women's champions
Vijaya Sports Club Koswadiya who won the women’s open title


men's champions

Combined Sports Club Katana who won the men’s open title


Combined SC defeated ‘Rantharu’ SC Debagama 3-0 (25-20, 25-22, 25-18) in the Men’s final while Vijaya SC beat Casualline SC Mawathagama 3-1 (25-19, 16-25, 25-22, 25-16) in the Women’s final.

This was the fifth time that Combined SC won the Dialog President’s Gold Cup Volleyball Tournament while Vijaya SC managed to win the title for the sixth time.

Earlier, Dawisamara SC Seeduwa beat Rajasinghe SC Ruwanwella 3-1 in the Men’s Under-22 final while Casualline SC Mawathagama had the better of Dharmapala SC Ehiliyagoda 3-1 in the Women’s Under-22 final.

President Maithripala Sirisena was the Chief Guest and distributed the main awards. He also participated in the ceremony held to mark 100 years of volleyball in Sri Lanka at the same venue.

Special awards:

(Men’s Open):
Best Server: Janitha Surath (Combine SC)
Best Receiver: W. A. D. M. S. Wickremasena (Rantharu SC)
Best Setter: G. J. S. Senadhira (Combined SC)
Best Attacker: H. D. R. Ranawaka (Combined SC)
Best Defender: Janitha Surath (Combined SC)
Best Libero: K. A. N. C. Fernando (Combined SC)
Best Player: Janitha Surath (Combined SC)

(Women’s Open):
Best Server: Chaturika Gayani (Vijaya SC)
Best Receiver: Shashinika Lakmali (Vijaya SC)
Best Setter: Nadeeshani Samaraweera (Dawisamara SC)
Best Attacker: Champa Kalyani (Casualline SC)
Best Defender: Iresha Udayangani (Vijaya SC)
Best Libero: Ishanka Subashini (Casualline SC)
Best Player: Dinesha Prasadini (Vijaya SC)

(Men’s Under-22):
Best Setter: Danushka Dilshan (Dawisamara SC)
Best Attacker: Rehan Madushanka (Dawisamara SC)
Best Player: Iyesg Dilhan (Dawisamara SC)

(Men’s Under-22):
Best Setter: S. Wickremasinghe (Casualline SC)
Best Attacker: N. S. Jayawardena (Dharmapala SC)
Best Player: A. Chatuni (Casualline SC)


Feel free to leave a comment...