Jathusan, Kabilraj guides St. John’s to victory
  Published : 10:52 pm  March 10, 2017 | No comments so far | Print This Post  | 0 views

By M. Shamil Amit

St. John’s College Jaffna coasted to an innings and seven-run win with a day to spare against traditional rivals Jaffna Central College in their annual 111th Battle of the North big match concluded at the Jaffna Central ground on Friday to record their 36th win of the series.

The foundation for the St. John’s win was laid by their deputy skipper Vasanthan Jathsuan who cracked 70 with nine boundaries and associated in two fruitful partnerships first of 53 runs for the sixth wicket with his skipper Sebamalaipillai Jeni Flemin who chipped in with a 29 and the other of 40 runs for the seventh wicket with Kanagaratnam Kabiraj to help the side resuming from their overnight score of 114 for 5 end with a formidable score of 253 runs in reply to the Centralites 164 runs.

The Centralites batting the second time and left with the task of erasing a deficit of 89 runs were mesmerized by right arm pacie Kanagaratnam Kabiraj who, following his four-wicket haul in the first innings, ran through their batting to end with an impressive bowling return of 6 for 28 and bundle the opposition out for a paltry 82 runs.

Kabilraj who ended with a match bag of 10 for 67 runs was supported by Vasanthan Jathusan and Murfin Abinash.who together shared nine wickets between.

St. John’s won five of the six individual awards that was offered for Vasanthan Jathusan (Best Batsman), Sebamalaipillai Jeni Flemin (Best Fielder), Chandramohan Thevaprashanth (Best Wicketkeeper) and Kanagaratnam Kabiraj (Best Bowler and Man of the Match) while Sivalingam Thasopan was the solitary winner of Jaffna Central taking best all-rounder award.


Jaffna Central 1st innings 164 (S. Thasopan 48, S. Kowthaman 35, S. Kartheepan 27: K. Kabilraj 4 for 39, V. Jathusan 3 for 50)

St John’s 1st innings (114/5 overnight)
P. Somaskaran c Komethagan b Thasopan 15
P. Thulaxshan b Thasopan 41
C. Thevaprashanth b Thushanthan 01
S. Jeni Flemin c Jeyatharsan b Nicksan 37
J. Krishanthujan c Komethagan b Thasopan 29
D.J. Stalin lbw b Thushanthan 04
V. Jathusan c Sajeepan b Mathshan 70
K. Kabilraj c Priyalaxshan b Kartheepan 16
M. Abinash b Thasopan 06
S. Leoni c Priyalaxshan b Mathshan 01
B. Niroshan not out 00
Extras (b14, lb7, nb10, w2) 33
Total (all out: 76.3 overs) 253
Fall of wickets – 1-68, 2-69, 3-69, 4-109, 5-114, 6-173, 7-213, 8-233, 9-248, 10-253.
Bowling – S. Mathushan 13.3-1-43-2, T. Sajeepan 5-0-17-0, S. Kartheepan 4-0-18-1, S. Thasopan 22-3-68-4, S. Thushanthan 22-7-44-2, U. Priyalalaxshan 5-0-25-0, A. Jeroshan 2-0-8-0, K. Nicksan 3-1-12-1

Jaffna Central 2nd innings
A. Jeyatharsan c Jeni Flemin b Abinas 09
U. Priyalaxshan c Jeni Flemin b Kabilraj 12
S. Kowthaman c Jathsan b Kabilraj 02
K. Nicksan b Kabilraj 00
A. Jeroshan lbw b Kabilraj 11
S. Kartheepan c Thevaprashanth b Kabiraj 08
T. Sajeepan c and b Kabilraj 02
S. Thasopan c Jathusan b Abinash 06
S. Mathsushan c Jeni Flemin b Jathusan 18
S. Komethagan c Thevaprashanth b Jathusan 05
S. Thushanthan not out 00
Extras (b5, nb4) 09
Total (all out: 34.5 overs) 82
Fall of wickets – 1-19, 2-21, 3-25, 4-39, 5-47, 6-49, 7-52, 8-63, 9-74, 10-82..
Bowling – K. Kabilraj 15-4-28-6, V. Jathusan 11.5-6-19-2, M. Abinash 9-2-23-2, S. Jeni Flemin 2-1-1-0, J. Krishanthujan 2-0-6-0


Feel free to leave a comment...