Rain spoils Trinity chances at Pallekele
  Published : 11:14 pm  March 10, 2017 | No comments so far | Print This Post  | 0 views

By Shamzeer Jaleel

Trinity College were in a strong position in their Centenary Big Match (Hill Country Battle of the Blues encounter) against the traditional rivals St. Anthony’s College which commenced at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy on Friday.

Hasith Boyagoda plays a square drive (pic by Tharik Mohammed)
Hasith Boyagoda plays a square drive (pic by Tharik Mohammed)

Day one came to an early end losing 34 overs due to rain.

Winning the toss, Trinity took first lease of the wicket at the Pallekele green top.

The Lions batted cautiously in the early overs as the ball was swinging and was unplayable at times. They lost opener Hasintha Jayasuriya early in the innings.

But a second-wicket partnership of over 100 runs took Trinity to 124 for one at lunch. Both Sri Lanka Youth players, Sanogeeth Shanmuganathan and Hasitha Boyagoda played brilliantly scoring at will. This was the backbone of the Trinity innings.

Soon after lunch both Boyagoda and Sanogeeth continued their good form with the bat but both missed out on well deserved centuries.

Skipper Sanogeeth and his deputy Hasitha put on 147 runs for the second wicket. Boyagoda’s innings consisted of seven boundaries and three sixes. His skipper’s innings had nine boundaries and two huge sixes. Both were victims of some fine spin bowling by Antonian

Mohamed Alavi who concentrated on a good line and length not giving either of the batsmen much space to play freely. He was the chief destroyer taking three Trinity wickets.

Rain played a major part as the game was stopped twice for bad light and rain. Trinity who were cruising well lost two wickets in quick succession towards the end of the day’s play. Play will begin at 9.25 a.m today (11) in an attempt to make up some of the lost overs.

Former Sri Lankan off-spinner Muttiah Muralithanran graced the occasion.

Trinity College 1st innings
H. Jayasuriya ct Sandaruwan b Wickramarachchi 07
S. Shanmuganathan ct Satheesh b Alavi 83
H. Boyagoda ct and b Alavi 90
C. Bandara b Alavi 00
P. Wanasekera not out 06
T. Percivel not out 00
Extras (b8, nb4, w6) 18
Total (for 4 wickets, 61 overs) 204
Fall: 1-12, 2-159, 3-179, 4-204
Bowling: S. Wickramarachchi 6-1-17-1, V. Jayasinghe 13-2-41-0, M. Alavi 18-4-57-3, S. Dharmaratne 22-1-62-0, T. Abeykoon 1-0-08-0, J. Himsara 1-0-11-0


Feel free to leave a comment...