Skipper Vishwa shines on day one
  Published : 10:56 pm  March 10, 2017 | No comments so far | Print This Post  | 0 views

By M. Shamil Amit

Prince of Wales skipper and Sri Lanka youth player Vishwa Chathuranga shone on day one in their 67th Battle of the Gold’s encounter against traditional rivals St. Sebastian’s played at De Zoysa Stadium in Moratuwa.

Vishwa’s knock of 88 helped Prince of Wales taking first lease of the wicket make a modest score of 230 before bad light put an end to proceedings after the Cambrians ended their innings at 4.05 p.m.

Cambrian skipper Chathuranga along with his opening partner Sandun Fernando gave the side a flying start putting on 100 runs before they were separated by left arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama.

Later the Cambrians was dealt a double blow when they lost two quick wickets at the same score of 125 which followed by 41 runs stand for the fourth wicket between Avindu Fernando and deputy skipper Dilanka Maduranga.

But from there on they lost wickets at regular intervals with Jayawickrama being the wrecker who ended with a five wicket haul which saw the Cambrians being restricted to a score of 230 runs.

There is doubt that that any positive result could be seen with only the second day’s of play left unless something dramatic takes place, the match is destined to end in a draw.

Prince of Wales 1st innings
Sandun Fernando b Jayawickrama 26
Vishwa Chathuranga b Jayawickrama 88
Sanoj Dharshika b N. Fernando 01
Avindu Fernando b Jayawickrama 13
Dilanka Maduranga b N. Fernando 32
Thilan Nimesh st Peiris b Jayawickrama 11
Prince Fernando c and b T. Fernando 12
Savindu Peiris b T. Fernando 03
Sanjaya Fernando c D. Fernando b Jayawickrama 24
Kaumal Nanayakkara lbw b Silva 04
Tharuka Fernando not out 00
Extras (b8, lb6, nb2) 16
Total (all out: 71.5 overs) 230
Fall of wickets – 1-100, 2-125, 3-125, 4-166, 5-170, 6-193, 7-197, 8-197, 9-230, 10-230.
Bowling – Asher Warnakulasuriya 5-2-14-0, Mishen Silva 8-1-26-0, Avishka Fernando 9-2-15-0, Tashik Perera 5-0-27-0, Praveen Jayawickrama 21.5-8-62-5, Nimesh Bandara 2-1-18-0, Nuwanidu Fernando 10-0-39-2, Tharusha Fernando 6-0-17-2


Feel free to leave a comment...