Dhananjaya leads Richmond to limited over title
  Published : 5:43 am  March 27, 2017 | 2 comments | Print This Post  | 0 views

By M. Shamil Amit

Dhananjaya Lakshan led the way with a 53 ball knock of 62 that included 12 boundaries and was also associated in a valuable 88 run stand for the second wicket with Adithya Siriwardena as Richmond emerged champions of the Under 19 Division One limited over tournament with a convincing eight wicket win over Thurstan in the final played at Campbell Park on Sunday.

Richmond 2


Richmond in pursuit of a revised target of 139 runs in 43 overs raced to victory in the 26th over. They underwent an early setback losing their first wicket with the score on four before the match winning partnership between Dhananjaya and Adithya. Thereafter an unbroken stand of 38 runs for the third between Adithya and Thaveesh Abishek saw them through to victory.

Earlier in the day Thurstan skipper Kasun Abeyratne winning the toss and electing to take first lease of the wicket saw his side loosing four quick wickets with the score on 59 in the11th over.

They recovered through a sixth wicket partnership of 52 runs between Charana Nanayakkara and Nipun Lakshan, but the late order batting failed to make any impression and at the halfway stage of the innings they were struggling on 112 for 7 before losing their last three wickets for the addition of just 29 runs being bowled out for a low score of 141.

Richmond’s hero Dhananjaya Lakshan was adjudged the man of the match for his knock of 62.


Thurstan innings
Kasun Abeyratne lbw b Udeeshana 00
Yeshan Wickramarachchi lbw b Wijesiri 37
Im esh Viranga c. R. Wijesiri b Udeehsna 05
Sawan Prabash lbw b. T. Udeeshana 01
Nipun Lakshan lbw b Mendis 20
Charana Nanayakkara c. K. Mendis b. S. Mendis 26
Navod Samarakoon lbw b. R. Wijesiri 11
Nimesh Lakshan c Kalansooriya b Mendis 00
Thusal Madusanka b Mendis 14
Naveen Gunawardana c Mendis b Wijesiri 03
Sandaru Dias not out 00
Extras (1b, 4lb, 19w) 24
Total (all out: 38.2 overs) 141
Fall of wickets - 1-0, 2-30, 3- 42, 4 – 59, 5-111, 6-111, 7- 112, 8-126 , 9-130, 10- 141.
Bowling - Thilanga Udeeshana 5-1- 29-3, Dhananjaya Lakshan 4-0-30- 0, Avindu Theekshana 8-5-21- 0, Ravishka Wijesiri 9-0-27-3, Sandun Mendis 6-1-19-2, Kamindu Mendis 6.2-2-10- 2

Richmond innings
Kamindu Mendis lbw Nanayakkara 04
Dhananjaya Lakshan b Dias 61
Adhithya Siriwardana not out 38
Thaveesha Abhishek not out 24
Extras (1 lb,11 w, 1 nb) 13
Total (2wickets: 25.3 overs) 140
Fall of wickets – 1-4, 2-92.
Bowling – Charana Nanayakkara 4-0-29-1, Nimesh Lakshan 3-0-17-0, Yeshan Wickramarachchi 1-0-6-0, Sawan Prabash 3-0-8-0, Naveen Gunawardana 8-0-35-0, Thusal Madusanka 1-0-10-0, Sandaru Dias 5.3-1-34-1


2 Responses to “Dhananjaya leads Richmond to limited over title”

  1. Panduka
    on March 28th, 2017 7:17 am

    Congratulations, you came long way becoming K.O Under 19 champions . 2013 and 2014 won league championship in the same competition . Keep it up boys .

  2. deb
    on March 28th, 2017 7:09 pm

    Weldone Richmond

Feel free to leave a comment...